Interagency Collaboration

" "

Collaboration is a predictor of positive postschool outcomes for students with disabilities when it occurs across education, vocational rehabilitation, families, and numerous other partners who provide instruction, pre-employment transition services, and other transition services stakeholders. Well-developed partnerships for planning and service delivery give the greatest benefit to youth and their families.

Vocational rehabilitation (VR) agencies are required to enter into formal interagency agreements with State Educational Agencies (SEA) that describe how they will collaboratively plan and coordinate transition services for students with disabilities who need those services, per the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended by Title IV of WIOA.  This formal interagency agreement is a foundational document and is essential to ensuring that students with disabilities experience a smooth transition from school to post-school activities.

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) specifies that schools are to ensure that  transition planning and services are coordinated with outside entities, agencies, and services providers as part of students’ annual Individualized Education Programs (IEPs).

Source: The Impact of Deep Collaboration on Work in States: Impact of Aligned Federal Policies (PDF)

Interagency collaboration goes beyond vocational rehabilitation and schools. At the local and state levels, collaboration within and across multiple agencies, services providers, and community organizations can provide students and families the sought-after seamless transition from youth to adult living.


Examples of Interagency Collaboration

State VR Agency Interagency Collaboration Resources

  • Report: State Interagency Collaboration 2019 (PDF)
    An overview of states’ progress toward interagency collaboration. States included in this report are Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Alabama, Wisconsin, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Missouri, Nebraska, West Virginia, Ohio, Rhode Island, North Dakota, Vermont, Tennessee, North Carolina, Utah, Washington, Oregon, Kentucky, Michigan, Maryland, and the District of Columbia.